Apr 5 2022
Colour Time Development

Colour Time is a series of twelve on-chain animated SVGs created during a motorcycle trip from Montreal to Los Angeles in November of 2022.


The origins of this series lie in earlier explorations on colour, notably Colour Calendar  and colour-time.com. Colour Calendar explores the effect of relative contrast on colour perception and our emotional relationship to colour.

colour-time.com explores complementary colour after-images, presenting a slowly shifting pane of colour. Upon viewing, the eye becomes saturated and begins to generate a complementary colour after-image, which is then met or challenged by the on-screen colour.  

These on-chain NFTs are the third iteration of this exploration, and combine the effects of colour relativity and complementary colour afterimages. Named for the location in which they were created, they attempt to express the impossibilty of fully capturing and relaying an experience as rich as a motorcycle roadtrip, instead expressing a tiny slice of colour and rhythm. 

Each work consists of two planes of colour, which shift between two points of colour. Each plane shifts at a different speed, ie 20 second loop for the background, 13 second loop for the foreground, which allows for complexity to build, different hues coming into contact as the planes phase in and out of sync. 

For the full experience, these are best viewed in fullscreen mode, which can be accessed from the project website. 


Sale opens Thursday April 14 at 10am PST, 1pm EST, 5pm GMT. Tokens are priced at 1 ETH.